Question about scripting for a newbie

I’m new to taskpaper, but not new to using text for todo lists (I just had my own inferior and inadequate system prior). I have a priority system where @priority(effort/result) where effort and result are assigned values 1-5. So I want to tag my tasks with an @priority tag having a continuous valued variable between (0,5]. I’d then like to see my tasks prioritized in that order.

My understanding is that TaskPaper can’t reorder things since searching is just a query. So I’d like to write a script that reorders tasks in each project according to priority. The question I have is: is this a job for writing a javascript and plugging it in as a script for TaskPaper, or would it be easier to just process the list using a python script called by some short cut using Alfred?

FWIW, I’m roughly equally familiar with python and Javascript.

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

I’d say this depends on if/what you’re using on iOS. I’ve been writing most of my scripts related to TP in Python these days so that I can use them (with a few modifications) in Editorial on iOS and on the Mac (though not in the TaskPaper app itself – but that’s the beauty of a plain text format).

I would agree that if you want to run the same script on iOS then yes go with Python… with that said if you use the JavaScript API it “should” be much easier to implement your sorting in a robust manner I think. In the TaskPaper JavaScript API you are manipulating a tree of objects, you wouldn’t have to worry about any parsing for example.

Haha! This is exactly the conundrum I was thinking it would be. I do use Editorial on iOS so Python is important, but I wanted to leverage the tree of objects from the JavaScript API.

Well if nothing else you’ve confirmed what I was thinking might be the case.

@derickfay do you have any Python scripts where you do heavy parsing that you’d be willing to share…just so I don’t have to start from scratch?