Option to hide outline triangles?

Hi,

Is there, or could there be, an option to hide the grayed-out non-functional outline “triangles”? It think this would make Bike a better, flexible way to edit text that’s not a typical outline.

Especially when printing, it would make sense to hide these grey triangles. But also when writing it would be useful for me.

Thanks for the great app!

There isn’t a way to do this right now.

There has been a request to disable them for printing, and that’s on my todo list. I’m not sure if there’s been a request to just disable the grayed out triangles. At the moment I’m trying to figure out how best to solve requests for specific preferences like this:

1. Claim I’m a perfect designer and say no! :slight_smile:

2. In TaskPaper I solved many of these requests via stylesheets. The stylesheets were flexible and you could configure many aspects of the editor with some custom rules. Nice part of this was lots of flexibility without having to have tons of preferences. Problems with this approach are:

• Style sheets were a difficult programmer thing to edit
    • Even if I want to use stylesheets in Bike I’m not ready to add them. A bit part of stylesheets in Bike would be a query language, and I’m not ready to design/implement that yet.
  3. For a while I’ve been considering just adding a kitchen sink worth of preferences to Bike. So instead of trying for a few well designed panels, I’ll just throw in all the preferences that people ask for.

This idea is growing on me, but to make it work I need to redesign Bike’s preferences and add some supporting UI such as search/filtering to the preferences window.

Also the problem with adding many preferences is that over time some of them will likely get removed/changed. So I would want to set an expectation that each individual preference isn’t necessarily a long time supported feature.