New user thoughts on TaskPaper

Hello,
Over my lifetime I have struggled with managing my tasks.
I have tried many task management systems and methodolgies but always found them lacking in certain areas.

I have recently started using TaskPaper and it is almost perfect so I thought I might post my thoughts.
It reminds me of the emacs OrgMode but is a lot more lightweight and doesn’t require emacs.
I have been using OmniFocus for a few years and found it to be restrictive.

It is extremely simple, extensible and stores everything in plain text.
But most importantly for me is the arbritrary tags and robust filtering.
This allows you to set it up however you see fit.

I have found a few shortcomings
1) The lack of a dedicated iOS app.
This is a major shortcoming for me and the reason why I probably won’t use TaskPaper long term.
I have tried a few on the market but they sync with DropBox and don’t support the robust filtering.
2) Can’t filter out completed tassks
Example would be selecting a task then adding “not @done” to the search.
The @done tasks will still be displayed.
3) Tagging with attributes is a little cumbersome.
There is a tag interface but it doesn’t complete for @tag(attribute).
Meaning you have to type the whole thing out.

I have though about rolling out my own interface, since the core is opensource for TaskPaper but unfortunately I am too disorganised.

Regards,
Daniel

Thanks for your feedback.

I’m not sure about point 2:

By default TaskPaper should come with a “Not Done” search in the sidebar that should solve this. The actual search is not @done except @done//*. If you just search for not @done you’ll still see @done items in the search results, if they have child items that are not done. But not @done except @done//* should handle that case.

Thank you.
The not @done except @done//* worked.

I was using it for when I focused in on a project.
I wanted to filter out completed things.

1 Like

Welcome to TaskPaper.